XFL Comeback



The 8 XFL teams

Many may remember the original XFL which was created by Vince McMahon, who also happens to be the owner of the WWE. The original XFL started in 2001 and only had one season when at the end of the season, both owners lost about $35 million and was considered a failure.  In 2017, after an ESPN documentary about the XFL aired, Vince McMahon teased a revival of the XFL. The Alliance of American Football (AAF) wanted to start a season a year before the XFL, but went bankrupt and could not finish the season.  Then, in 2018, the XFL announced a comeback. The new and improved XFL consists of eight teams and unlike the NFL, any players that have a criminal record are not allowed to play.

The XFL will be played with most of the same rules as the NFL, with a few changes. The kickoffs will be changed, points after touchdowns will be worth 1 point from 2 yards out, 2 points from 5 yards out, and 3 points from 10 yards out. There will be double forward passes allowed as long as the first forward pass is completed behind the line of scrimmage. Overtime will be a five round shootout like soccer. There will be a 25 second play clock instead of a 40 second one. There will be one referee dedicated to getting a new ball and spotting it after each play. 

Every player on an XFL Roster will be making $55,000 for the first season. Every XFL game will be on national TV with 25 games being broadcast on ABC or FOX. The XFL Championship will be played on Sunday, April 26.

The 8 teams in the XFL are:

  • Dallas Renegades
  • Houston Roughnecks
  • Los Angeles WIldcats
  • Seattle Dragons
  • DC Defenders
  • New York Guardians
  • ST Louis Battlehawks
  • Tampa Bay Vipers

How do you think the new and improved XFL will do?